2023 Awardee Profiles

American Horizon Award Recipient

Michael K. Powell
President and CEO
NCTA – The Internet & Television Association

Michael K. Powell is President and CEO of NCTA – The Internet & Television Association. In his current role, he leads one of the largest trade associations in Washington, D.C., representing the communications and content industries.

Mr. Powell is a former Chairman of the Federal Communications Commission (FCC). He was appointed to the Commission by President Bill Clinton in 1997 and appointed Chairman by President George W. Bush in 2001, serving until 2005.

During his time as FCC head, Chairman Powell oversaw the rapid transformation of communications markets into the Digital Age. During his tenure, the Internet came into widespread commercial use, as did smart phones, Wi-Fi networks, and satellite radio.

Prior to his time at the FCC, Chairman Powell served with distinction in other public-sector positions. He served as Chief of Staff of the Antitrust Division of the U.S. Department of Justice, Policy Advisor to the Secretary of Defense, and as an armored cavalry officer in the U.S. Army.

In the private sector, Chairman Powell practiced law and was a senior advisor in a private equity firm. He also served on the public boards of Cisco and AOL.

Chairman Powell serves on several nonprofit boards. He is the Chairman of the Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees, Chairman of the William & Mary Foundation Board, and Vice Chairman of America’s Promise Alliance.

Chairman Powell received his bachelor’s degree in government from the College of William & Mary and his law degree from Georgetown University Law Center. He holds honorary doctorate degrees from William & Mary and Pepperdine University.

Freedom of Speech Award Recipient

Bob Woodward
Author and Associate Editor
The Washington Post

Bob Woodward is an associate editor of The Washington Post, where he has worked for 50 years.

Mr. Woodward has shared in two Pulitzer Prizes, first in 1973 for the coverage of the Watergate scandal with Carl Bernstein, and second in 2002 as the lead reporter for coverage of the 9/11 terrorist attacks. He has been a recipient of nearly every other major American journalism award.

Mr. Woodward has authored or co-authored 21 books, all national bestsellers. The last three on the Trump presidency – Fear (2018), Rage (2020), and Peril (2021) – all were New York Times #1 bestsellers. Another 12 of his books have been New York Times #1 bestsellers.

In listing the all-time 100 best non-fiction books, Time magazine has called All the President’s Men, by Bernstein and Woodward, “Perhaps the most influential piece of journalism in history.”

In October 2022, Mr. Woodward published his first audiobook, The Trump Tapes: Bob Woodward’s 20 Interviews with President Donald Trump. It is the extraordinary historical record of his more than eight hours of conversations with the former president.

A native of Illinois, Mr. Woodward received his B.A. degree from Yale University in 1965 and then served a five-year tour as a U.S. Navy officer. Following his discharge as a lieutenant, he considered law school but decided to pursue a career in journalism. Mr. Woodward was hired as a Post reporter in September 1971.

Bob Schieffer of CBS News has said, “Woodward has established himself as the best reporter of our time. He may be the best reporter of all time.”